Jayati Ghosh awarded Galbraith prize by Agricultural and Applied Economics Association

The Agricultural and Applied Economics Association has selected development economist Jayati Ghosh as the recipient of the 2023 Galbraith Award.

The prize is part of a larger initiative by the organization to commemorate outstanding agricultural economists who have made significant contributions to humanity through their leadership, research and achievements.

Ghosh has been a professor at the University of Massachusetts Amherst since January 2021, and before that taught economics at Jawaharlal Nehru University in New Delhi for nearly 35 years.

She has written and/or edited over 20 books and more than 200 articles, and much of her research has focused on economic policy and labor market dynamics in the global south.

Earlier this year, the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association (AAEA) chose six economists for its class of 2023 fellows.

Each year the society recognizes economists whose work represents a “continuous contribution” to the advancement of agricultural or applied economics.

The AAEA’s fellow for 2023 are: Marc Bellemare, Keith Fuglie, Elena Irwin, David Pannell, Dawn Thilmany and Holly Wang.