American Economic Association elects Janet Currie as president

The American Economic Association has named Princeton economist Janet Currie as incoming president.

She will serve as president-elect of the association through 2023 and as president during 2024.

In addition, the American Economic Association (AEA) has also elected economists Hilary Hoynes and Linda Tesar as vice-presidents and Kevin Lang and Lisa Lynch as members.

Currie is Henry Putnam Professor of Economics and Public Affairs at Princeton University and co-director of the university’s Center for Health and Wellbeing. Her research focuses on the economic analysis of child development, and she also co-directs the program on families and children at the National Bureau of Economic Research.

In 2021 the AEA elected Stanford professors Susan Athey and Caroline Hoxby as president and vice president.

The AEA was established in 1885 and is a non-profit association dedicated to the discussion and publication of economics research.