UK’s Office of National Statistics appoints seven new fellows

The U.K.’s Office of National Statistics has appointed seven new fellows.

They join the agency’s economic experts working group, which provides advice to Office of National Statistics (ONS) staff on important topics.

Institute for Government Chief Economist Gemma Tetlow joins the group, along with Stuart McIntyre from the University of Strathclyde.

ONS has also named Mirko Draca from the University of Warwick and Anthony Savagar from the University of Kent as fellows, along with Cardiff Business School professor Melanie Jones.
In addition, University of St Andrews lecturer Marcel Lukas and University of Bristol professor Helen Simpson also take up spots in the advisory group.

As well as the seven new fellows, ONS has re-appointed University of Cambridge public policy professor Diane Coyle and former Bank of England economist Robert Heath to the working group.

Commenting on the appointments, ONS Director General for Economic Statistics Mike Keoghan said: “We are honoured to welcome another excellent group of ONS Fellows. Being able to draw on the advice and expertise of this group of experienced and respected economic experts will be key to the next phase of our continuing development of UK economic statistics.”