Philipp Strack wins 2024 John Bates Clark Medal

Yale economist Philipp Strack has won the John Bates Clark Medal for 2024.

He was awarded the prize for his work spanning multiple areas of microeconomic theory, which includes the study of decision-making and behavioral economics.

In a statement announcing the award, the American Economic Association said: “Strack has advanced the next generation of behavioral economics by examining the limits of behavioral theories and by showing the care needed to interpret and measure empirical facts.”

The John Bates Clark Medal is a prize given each year by the American Economic Association to an economist under the age of 40 who is working in the U.S. and has made “the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge.”

“It’s an incredible honor, and it’s hard to believe,” Strack said in a statement. “I’m just very happy and grateful.”

Strack joined Yale in 2019, and holds professorships within both the university’s economics department and department of computer science. He obtained his Ph.D. in economics from the University of Bonn in Germany.

Last year’s John Bates Clark Medal was awarded to UC Berkeley economist Gabriel Zuchman for his research on tax avoidance and economic inequality.