Econometric Society elects new regional representatives

The Econometric Society has announced the winners of its regional standing committee elections.

Dalia Ghanem from the University of California, Davis, has been elected as representative for the society’s Africa region, while Satoru Takahashi from the University of Tokyo and Shu-Chun Yung of the Institute of Economics at Academia Sinica will represent Asia.

Meamwhile, Pauline Grosjean from the University of New South Wales and Renee Fry-McKibbin from Australian National University will represent the Australasia region. Ricardo Reis of the London School of Economics and Political Science will represent Europe.

For the Latin America regional committee, Irene Brambilla of the Universidad Nacional de La Plata and Frederico Echenique of the California Institute of Technology have been elected. Elie Tamer of Harvard University will represent North America.

The society’s standing committees are responsible for organizing regional activities. Appointments on the committees are initially for one year, but can be renewed for a second and third year provided they satisfy certain conditions. The representatives’ terms begin on Jan. 1 2023.